IT’S TIME TO BEGIN AGAIN…

ipad-lead02

My last post was almost a year ago, and I must admit, I thought I was done with blogging.

Twitter had seemed to replace much of what I wanted – blogging is all about you, it’s your personal spin on events, and what better (and quicker) way to do that, than to post short messages with a link to the event in question.

The past 2-3 days have made me realise that I’m not done with blogging, and I have much more to say regarding all things Apple and tech in general.

Of course, as you’ve probably realised, the event that has spurred me on, is the sad death of Steve Jobs.

I’m based in the UK, and I learned of his death in the most abrupt and weird way possible. My iPhone awoke me at 5.45am with an alarm, and I had set up notifications on The Boy Genius Report app, and there, in a little sad blue box were the words, “Breaking: Steve Jobs dead at 56”.

Numbness and the day’s working trawl followed. I quickly went to MacDailyNews to confirm, and then left it at that, not really wanting to confront it.

I surfed Twitter occasionally through the day, looking at other’s inevitable reaction, but I didn’t want to react myself.

The next day, I tried to listen to Mac OS Ken Live, but could only get through about ten minutes of it – too upsetting.

The Mac Geek Gab is the first content I fully absorbed regarding Steve’s death, and it was a great show – 2 ordinary guys talking about how Apple changed their lives. In many ways this was the final reason I was looking for to start commenting again.

I’ll post again as often as I can, I may comment about Steve in more detail, I may not, but I’ve tried to come up with a sound bite that sums up what Steve Jobs means to me, and I’ll say this:

PhilipKDick was once quoted as saying,

“Eveything I see is plastic and glass, and gaudy colours and strangely made, and [therefore] human beings begin to take on the same sort of plastic oddness, and our eyeballs seem to take on a glassy look. The entire world seems to take on a fake, artificial ‘made’ quality. The natural question therefore comes to mind is – who made it? why is it so crummy? why is it so degraded and falling apart?”

The unique technologies that Apple and Steve Jobs create, driven by innovation, passion and the desire to make devices that not only look beautful, but act beautifully as well, stop that statement from becoming true.

Leave a Reply

