The iPad’s file-system…

Media_httpgagravaarfi_bebea

Apple take on the file-system for the iPad.AppleInsider has a great article about one of the mystery’s of the upcoming iPad – the file system and sharing the content you create on the device.If the iPad is going to become a really useful device, and not just ‘a big iPod Touch’ as has been said by various negative commentators around the internet, then how the device sits amongst the ‘computers’ in the world is important.I say ‘computers’ in quotation marks because the iPad isn’t a computer – not in the current definition: ‘a computing device that allows you to write, install and run any software and extend that computer to do just about anything you want.’The iPad certainly isn’t that, but I feel that’s a good thing.Not just a ‘good’ thing – a desirable thing.To be truthful, I’m fed up with computers and what they are – I want something closer to the iPhone, something that let’s me do the things I do on a computer, but I don’t want to have to worry about the file-system, potential viruses, installing updates to various sub-systems and the like.I’ve thought about this and this is my situation: I have and iBook and 80%-90% of the time I do the following:

  1. Check email
  2. Surf the internet
  3. Update the blog
  4. Social networking (Twitter, facebook etc)
  5. Use iTunes, and the iLife apps
  6. Use the iWork apps
  7. Play games

The other 20% is:

  1. Rip CD’s & DVD’s
  2. Bring some work home and use the Adobe Apps

I can do all of the first list on the iPad, the 2nd list is something that I haven’t done in ages, the 2nd list I can live without and if I do need it, then the iBook can handle it.But coming back to the AppleInsider article it seems that Apple really has thought this through. If I create a Pages document on the iPad, it will wirelessly be available to the Pages app on the Mac – it couldn’t be simpler.No file system, no worries, no hassles. You just get work done and surely that’s what we all have ‘computers’ for isn’t it?We don’t want to spend time keeping them running, installing updates, configuring them, checking for viruses, and doing anything but creating content?If using computers means that to you, then like I said – you’re welcome to them. I want an iPad.

Leave a Reply

