Apple’s 22″ touch tablet, a return to the past..?

Multitouch

I’ve been a graphic designer for many years now. When I first got into this business there wasn’t just an absence of Macintoshes, there was no computerisation whatsoever.

We created graphics using various sources; cameras, illustration, hand-drawn typography and galley type, all pasted onto a board ready for platemaking like this:

Graphics table

It was a long laborious process, and thankfully it was gradually replaced by the Apple Macintosh.

I create pieces of artwork now that would have been impossible to do back then. Computerization has been a world changing event for my profession.

A few years ago I saw a movie on you tube that really got me thinking, here it is:

I thought back then: are we about to see a return to that drawing board? Are my children and perhaps even myself, at some point in the future going to work with an interface such as this, with the form-factor of that drawing board I used almost 20 years ago?

A welcome return certainly, but even I thought it was decades off, until I read this:

Apple to release 22″ touch tablet – courtesy of Digitimes.

And elaborated here, at The eBook Test.

I firmly believe that this touch interface and the hardware it runs on will arrive eventually, and will seem light years ahead of even that YouTube video, which is really just a projected image from beneath, tracking your hand movements and relaying that to some pretty sophisticated software.

But even I didn’t think it would be this year – if the rumour from Digitimes plays out.

That hardware, with Apple’s Touch Interface, connected to the iTunes AppStore for rock-solid reliability? That is a device that I’ve been waiting for all my life.

Leave a Reply

