iPod software development…

Media_httpgagravaarwo_bjjda

I love my iPod. Well actually I love my iPods, because I have 4 of them, but there’s one thing that’s been troubling me.The hardware changes, the design changes, but the underlying software features don’t seem to change.Things have moved on from version 1, and I know that Apple like to keep things simple, but there’s one thing I wish they would add, or I could add myself.More often than not, I’m listening to my music on shuffle, and I come across a song by an artist I really like, and by extension I like other songs by this artist.Why can I not simply skip to a list that says:1) Shuffle to other songs by this artist2) Shuffle to other songs in this genre3) Shuffle to other songs in this yearMaybe this could be a special section that you could programme from iTunes, so you would have an Applescript that does this, but it executes also on the iPod.I know that the ‘KISS’ principle (Keep It Simple Stupid), is behind a lot of reasoning at Apple, but time and time again I come across a situation like this in the car.The only way around it is to navigate back to the top level,  select ‘Artist’ and shuffle from their entry – it’s not very easy and probably quite dangerous and distracting if you’re driving.Maybe now that the AppStore is open we’ll see this, but what with Apple restricting certain apps when they duplicate in-built features, it’s not likely.

Leave a Reply

